When to Introduce Solids?

solidsThere’s an old joke that if you ask a question to two Jews, you get three answers. I feel like there’s a similar conundrum when it comes to solids – you ask two pediatricians, you get three answers. My pediatrician told me we could introduce fruits and veggies at 4 months but should wait until 6 months before giving her rice cereal. Others say the exact opposite – start with cereal. The American Academy of Pediatrics says to wait until “around 6 months.” And advocates of Baby Lead Weaning say to skip cereal and other purees entirely and just feed the baby what you eat.

Baby Lead Weaning appeals to me and I plan to shift toward it as my daughter gets older. However, she is about to turn four months and I decided to give solids a try for a few reasons:

  • She is my first and it is exciting!
  • She can sit up fairly well and loves sitting at the table with us and watching us eat
  • Since she usually won’t take a bottle, it will make it a little easier to leave her with my husband or with a babysitter for a few hours knowing she won’t starve
  • She has been crazy hungry for the past few days and I’m ready to give the all-day breastaurant a break!

Like many things about parenthood, I feel like there’s no need to stake out different camps. It doesn’t have to be all or nothing. I can give her some food to taste and play with one day when it’s convenient and not worry about it the next day. I can try purees if she likes them and do Baby Lead Weaning if she doesn’t.

She turns four months on Monday and I’m excited to see how it goes. Any advice from others who started solids at four months?

4 thoughts on “When to Introduce Solids?

Leave a Reply

