A. is 4 Months Old!

BirthdayI can’t believe my baby girl is already 4 months old! 1/3 of a year – holy cow, I am definitely not ready for this. My tiny, sleepy newborn is already a playful little girl.

I have decided to refer to her as “A.” on this blog rather than using her real name so that she can’t hate me when she is a teenager. Or at least she can’t hate me for writing about her poop on the Internet – I’m sure she’ll find other reasons!

Tomorrow we’re going to the doctor and will find out how big she is. She is really filling out well since her 2 month visit and is eating like crazy this week so I’m guessing she will be around 14 pounds.

I thought she might start rolling over both ways around this point, but so far she has shown zero interest in doing so. In fact, she actually stopped rolling over from her tummy to her back! I think she did so before by accident – she could only hold her head up for a minute and then she would just sort of flop over. Now that her body has gotten heavier and she is more comfortable on her tummy, she needs to learn to do so intentionally. I’m not worried – I’m sure she will start when she’s ready!

We’ve also seen some big changes in her sleep over the last month. With a lot of work, she’s finally settled into a consistent bedtime (although she still doesn’t go to sleep easily) and wakes up about the same time each morning. She’s also dropped down to two night feedings most nights, which is awesome. On the other hand, her day sleep has majorly regressed. She finally started taking some good naps, and then all of a sudden they all dropped down to 30-45 minutes. I think we’re seeing the 4 month sleep regression.

This next month will be exciting – we’re starting solids, traveling, meeting a lot of new family, and hopefully dropping to a solid 2-3 nap schedule. I’m looking forward to it, but also sad that my baby girl is growing so fast!

Leave a Reply

