Ways to Screw Up Applesauce, Part II

2014-11-30 23.52.18Welp, I’ve done it. I found a third way to screw up applesauce. In case you’re counting, that’s one success followed by three fails.

That night, I had some family members over for dinner and I cut up some apples and put them out. After they left, there were four apple slices (about half an apple) left. I was full from dinner and they would have browned if I stored them, so I figured I would use them to make a tiny bit of applesauce, just enough for my daughter A. to eat for dinner tomorrow.

So I peeled the apples and put them in a pot. After burning the apples last time, I was sure to add more water to the pot and to cook the apples super low.

Unfortunately, that produced a water-to-apple ratio that was way too high. The apples cooked, but were completely tasteless. So bad that I didn’t even want to serve it to my 4 month old baby.

I have a bunch of apples in the frig so I need to try again! Next time I will remember:

  • Peel the apples
  • Add enough water and cook them low enough so they don’t burn – and check them often!
  • Use enough apples to retain the apple flavor

The fourth time’s the charm, maybe?

Leave a Reply

