I Was Not Prepared for This Poop

solidsA. has been eating solids for a little over a month now. Although she hated them on the first few tries, she now really enjoys solid food and has come around on most veggies after trying them a few times. We’ve been feeding her once a day around 5 or 6, with an occasional nibble at other times of the day.

I’ve been feeding her almost entirely homemade baby food. Although this impresses some people, it’s really the easiest kind of cooking imaginable. If I’m making a fruit or veggie for dinner, I just steam it, set some aside, and then run it through the food processor. I haven’t worried too much about making it perfectly smooth and she’s done fine.

I store any extra baby food by freezing it in ice cube trays, then popping it out and storing it in baggies or tupperware in the freezer. That makes it really easy to grab a single portion. I fully credit my mom for this idea BUT ONLY IF SHE IS STILL READING MY BLOG.

The only thing I haven’t made from scratch is baby cereal. Although it is possible to make your own, I tried and it was so loud it terrified her. Plus the store-bought stuff is so easy to just mix up in a few seconds.

Now that A. really enjoys solids, she has worked her way up from a few bites to good sized portions. Last night for dinner, she polished off about 2 tbs of oatmeal, plus a full ice cube of applesauce and one of squash.

Unfortunately, what goes in must go out, and out it comes. A. used to poop several times a day. Now she is down to just once and oh, what a poop it is. My little sweet baby is taking adult-sized poops.

I’m also having to search for new diaper solutions. I had previously been trifolding prefolds inside covers. It was fast and easy and it worked just fine with small, runny breastmilk poops. Now that we have reached a new level of pooping, I’m going to have to experiment with some different diaper folds.

Leave a Reply

