Who Are You and What Have You Done with My Daughter?

sleepPlease rest assured that as I write this, I am knocking on several objects made of wood – I think we have finally passed the four month sleep regression.

A. is a very punctual baby. She was born on her due date and has been right on target with most milestones. And the very day she turned five months, I really started to see changes in her sleep habits.

The past few nights A. has only woken up to eat twice and a few times has fussed but GONE BACK TO SLEEP. She’s also been going to sleep at bedtime pretty well, with either no crying at all or a few minutes of crying after I put her down just to complain.

We’ve noticed an even bigger change with naps, which have never been her strong suit. For most of her life, she has rarely napped more than 45 minutes. This, more than anything else, has driven me batty as I spent longer getting her to go to sleep than she actually slept. MAMA NEEDS SOME TIME TO HERSELF!

She’s started falling asleep for naps on her own after either talking to herself or fussing a little bit. It still usually takes a while for her to fall asleep no matter what time I put her down, but at least it’s not 30 minutes of screaming.

A few days ago, she woke up from a nap after 45 minutes. Since she’d gone to sleep without fussing, I decided to let her fuss for a few minutes instead of getting her right away. She actually went back to sleep!

Right now she has been asleep for an hour and a half (!!!). Who are you and what have you done with my baby???

Leave a Reply

